Saying No to My Comfort Zone

The words escaped my mouth before I had time to draw them back in. My heart quickened. Fear threatened an anxiety attack.

There are times when saying no to an opportunity is a good thing, healthy even. Then there are times when saying no means selling yourself short. And we were made to shine.

I like it here in my comfort zone. It feels familiar. It feels safe. But what does that accomplish? I don’t want to live my life ruled by fear and anxiety. I don’t want to spend my days over-thinking and never acting, day dreaming and gathering dust in the process. No.

It’s okay to be scared. It’s okay to feel out of my depth. The mountain may prove difficult to climb, but the lessons learned, the strength gained, the effort to persevere is worth the view from the top every time.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” ~ 2 Timothy 1:7

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying No to My Comfort Zone

  1. mysafiri says:

    Beautiful post, short and to the point! It’s so so so important to combat fear and not let our daily lives fall victim to lost opportunities. I actually just published a piece recently on the necessity of fighting fear… feel free to check it out!

Leave a Reply

