Sweet Potato Soup & Grounding

Image

I love food. I love preparing food and sharing food. I love the connection that happens when people sit at a table and eat together. The whole process grounds me. To illustrate my point, I’d like to share my recipe for sweet potato soup.

Sweet Potato Soup

2 bell peppers

1 large sweet potato

1 leek

1 shallot (or small onion)

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

about 3 – 4 cups water (or vegetable broth)

a dash of sweet chili sauce (optional)

pepper & salt to taste

2 tbsp butter or oil

Preparing and processing food grounds me. As I organize my ingredients and prepare them with care and intention; chopping, dicing, simmering, I feel mentally grounded.

Wash and chop all the veggies. Heat 2 tbsp butter or oil in a soup pot. Add the onions, peppers, leeks, garlic, salt and pepper. Cook everything over low heat for about 5 minutes until the onions start to soften. Then add the diced sweet potato and nutmeg. Stir to combine. Pour in just enough water to cover the potatoes. Bring to a boil, pop on the lid and simmer over low heat for about 20 to 25 minutes until the potatoes are tender. When the sweet potatoes are done, add a dash of sweet chili sauce if you like. Use your favorite blender or food processor to turn it into a creamy soup. I like to serve this with a chunk of crusty bread for dipping.

Enjoying this nutritious dish helps ground my body. Enjoying this dish with friends or family grounds my spirit.

But what about you? What are your favorite grounding activities?

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweet Potato Soup & Grounding

  1. I love sweet potatoes. Definitely going to give this one a try. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. rosrua says:

    Sounds like an awesome recipe I’ll have to try! Oddly enough, two activities during my work week have proven to be amazing for grounding – the beautiful scenery on the drive home, and warm sunshine and gentle wind caressing my face as I walk our company deposit to the bank. These grounding activities will change somewhat as we get into the really hot season, but in spring, this is it. On weekends, a walk in the park will always ground and recharge.

  3. I love cooking so much, and until I read this, I had no idea why! Peace comes so easily when I’m cooking something, especially if I’m cooking with someone I love. (I also really love sweet potatoes, so I plan on introducing my lovely partner with this dish for our next stay-in-date-night. Thanks a bunch for sharing it!) Also, gardening and helping green things grow makes my soul smile. Something about it is so…comforting.

  4. Mystic Angel says:

    Potato’s are naturally grounding as they come from the earth. This soup looks awesome. I will have to try it out.

  5. grazona says:

    Food is very important to me when it comes to being grounded. Meal time is a priority for my boyfriend and I. Dinner time is my favorite part of our day because we sit together, often talking but sometimes not, and share food we’ve made together. It’s time for us both to decompress and reset.

  6. Love this recipe and need some grounding too! Can’t wait to try this soup when the weather gets cooler.

Leave a Reply

