Night of a Thousand Lambancies

She’s a little crazy, but that’s part of her charm. It’s only 20 degrees outside and she wants to go star gazing. She may be crazy, but I’m crazy about her, so I’ll follow wherever she leads me.

Go ahead. Call me whipped. I’m too happy to care.

We drive out to the edge of town where the clouds have lifted and the sky is clear. The snow on the ground is fresh, and it crunches under our feet as we venture up a hill speckled with skinny pine trees. She insists the view is better from the top. And she’s right. I feel silly for thinking it, but standing at these heights, it’s like I could reach out and pluck a star from the heavens as easily as I might pick an apple.

She loves these little adventures; catching wonder, she calls it. The night sky an indigo blanket playing hide and seek with the stars. I thought we’d see more of them.  At least the ones bold enough to shine are magnificent. She can hear my question. I can tell by the smile on her lips.

“Would you like to see more?” Her tone is playful. But don’t let your mind wander where it needn’t. I know she’s referring to the stars, and I’m curious to see how she plans on making more appear.

“Close your eyes. I have a memory to share with you.” I trust her, so I close my eyes and let her bring her hand to my head. The sky explodes with light.

“What are you showing me?”

“An autumn evening close to the equator from years ago.”

I let her memory wash over me, taking over all my senses. I’m not cold anymore. There’s warmth on my skin, the scent of the ocean in the breeze, and the sky dances, a night of a thousand lambancies, a meteor shower that gives the stars the illusion of singing. I can almost hear the song. So sweet, so beautiful. I’ve never seen stars like this before.

And then they fade. Warmth is exchanged for crisp winter air.  I can smell the pine tress not far from us.

“Welcome back.” She smiled.

“How did you do that?”

And then she got shy, timid almost. That’s not like her. “I’m not sure I can explain it. Could you simply accept that I trust you enough to share this piece of me?”

“Yes.” I manage to whisper. How did I find such a magnificent creature? And how is it, that of all people she chose me? She’s glowing around the edges.  Light dances around her composed of every color, like when sunlight catches a waterfall at just the right angle. I’ve never seen a color like hers on anyone before. Maybe someday soon I’ll try to explain this to her. If anyone could understand, it would be her.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Night of a Thousand Lambancies

    • aprilmilam says:

      Thank you! This was a new experiment for me. I’ve never tried to write something from his point of view. I’m happy with the way it turned out. Thank you for reading. 🙂

  1. viviankay says:

    Like a piece of fiction that could develop into an entire book. Very interesting.

    • aprilmilam says:

      It could be, but I like the idea of this new genre. Flash Fiction is just a glimpse at a story, but it’s still a complete story on its own, like sprinting versus marathon running.

  2. AshleyNicole says:

    I am so glad to have stumbled upon your blog! Your pieces are captivating, articulate, and highly intriguing. I especially love this post!

  3. Joyce says:

    Just great. You had me from the beginning. I need more. A great picture of a night with the stars out and thoughts of who put them there.

    • aprilmilam says:

      Thank you. I’ve had this character running around in my head for awhile. This was my way a of getting my feet wet to see if it worked. You may just see more of these two in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

