Ongoing Revisions

“A Human Becoming”

I am not a human being.
That would imply something stagnant.
I am a human becoming.
I grow with the passing of time and circumstance.
To be or to become, that is question.
For if I be, then I stay in my comfort zone that’s safe.
And we were made for so much more than that.
But if I become, then I grow,
face my fears,
my life,
and know.

I am not a human being.
I am a human becoming.
Working at authenticity, courage, and honestly.
Struggling to let down my many walls and be vulnerable.
Connected by community,
experience,
and spirit.

I am not a human being.
I am a human becoming.
I live and love when it’s hard, when it hurts, when I doubt,
when it’s good, when it’s great,
when it’s so much more than I could have imagined.
Inviting grace,
joy,
truth,
and freedom in the process of human becoming.

I wrote the first draft of this poem back in 2006. This is it’s 3rd revision, and probably won’t be the last. May the process never end.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ongoing Revisions

  1. Viviankay says:

    Yes, we are human becoming. How we change so everyday with each new experience. May God richly bless our human becoming so someday someone just might say I think I have just seen a Christ follower.
    And I really like this revision.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

